Starturn 4 '.sta" format

All info relating to the Denford StarTurn CNC lathes

Moderators: Martin, Steve, Mr Magoo

User avatar
Denford Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3632
Joined: Fri 10 Feb , 2006 12:40 pm
Hardware/Software: Go to User Control Panel > Profile
Enter as much information about your CNC hardware and software as you can - it makes it easier for everyone to know what you're talking about then.
Location: Sunny Brighouse
Contact:

Post by Denford Admin » Mon 09 Oct , 2006 21:17 pm

Glad you worked it out 8)

Can you qoute a couple of examples of the string to number conversion so anyone else could do the same ?

Cheers

Karl
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon 25 Sep , 2006 17:22 pm

Post by Karl » Tue 10 Oct , 2006 21:01 pm

Cheers

I'm going to check with my friend that figured it out and if it's OK with him I'll post the reply I got from him. The data is(as I remember it):
79 bytes for each line of startuen data

byte 1 = line #
Byte 2 = ?
Byte 3 = 1 to indicate if the number in byte 4 is G, 2 if it is an M code
Byte 4 = value of G or M code
Byte 5 = # of valid characters in the remark statement to follow
Byte 6 to 37 = ascii text of remark statement
Byte 38 to 44 X value in mantissa/exponent format
Byte 45 to 51 Y value
Byte 52 to 58 F value
Byte 59 to 65 R value

That's about how it fell out. I hope it helps someone else.

Karl

User avatar
Denford Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3632
Joined: Fri 10 Feb , 2006 12:40 pm
Hardware/Software: Go to User Control Panel > Profile
Enter as much information about your CNC hardware and software as you can - it makes it easier for everyone to know what you're talking about then.
Location: Sunny Brighouse
Contact:

Post by Denford Admin » Wed 11 Oct , 2006 15:48 pm

And after all that ....... Mr Magoo finds a DOS utility which takes G-Code text files and creates an STA and a STS file :roll:

Here it is: :D
Attachments
starturn-converter-in-action.gif
Shows the starturn STA file creator running from a DOS command prompt (in XP)
starturn-converter-in-action.gif (1.7 KiB) Viewed 11513 times
STURN1B.zip
Contains the sturn1b.exe and an example G code program.
Just type sturn1b testprg.txt to convert the gcode into STA format
(7.53 KiB) Downloaded 827 times

robtjhill
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon 12 Oct , 2009 13:55 pm

Re: Starturn 4 '.sta" format

Post by robtjhill » Mon 12 Oct , 2009 17:07 pm

i have run in command prompt but, cannot read nc file is displayed where it should have converted blocks

can someone tell me what i am doing wrong

User avatar
Mr Magoo
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 301
Joined: Tue 21 Feb , 2006 21:45 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: Starturn 4 '.sta" format

Post by Mr Magoo » Tue 13 Oct , 2009 7:48 am

I've just seen this post - wish I'd seen it earlier to save you folks some pain. :roll:

The attached STSPEC.TXT gives the file format the txt file should follow in order for it to be read by the conversion program. HTH
Attachments
STSPEC.TXT
Starturn TXT to Binary conversion spec
(2.97 KiB) Downloaded 872 times

User avatar
Mr Magoo
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 301
Joined: Tue 21 Feb , 2006 21:45 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: Starturn 4 '.sta" format

Post by Mr Magoo » Tue 13 Oct , 2009 8:26 am

Hi Karl...

I know it's a bit late in the day to post this, but here is the format of a Program Block record (cnc block) that is loaded / saved by the Starturn...

Code: Select all

blockno:    // looks like this is a 16 bit signed integer ??
kind:        // byte: 0=blank line, 1=GCode, 2=MCode, 3=comment
code:       // byte: G or M Code value
commentary: // comment text (first byte is text length),then 32 bytes 
parms: array [1 .. 6] of   // array of 6 parameters to follow (eg x, y, z, f, r )
  record               // (I guess a max of 6 because of a threading block)
    value: real;      // float: each parameters value
    filled: boolean   // boolean (probably a byte): true if this parameter is used?
  end
Hope this makes sense if you're pursuing you own file writer! I may be able to dig out some further notes if it helps.

black5f
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue 22 Mar , 2011 9:45 am
Hardware/Software: 2 lathes, manual mill, cnc mill, home brew software etc
Location: Rothwell

Re: Starturn 4 '.sta" format

Post by black5f » Mon 28 Mar , 2011 18:50 pm

Very late on this post! Try this...
viewtopic.php?f=46&t=3253

Tom

Post Reply