Orac MWP84 Initial Setup Guide to take Your “FIRST” cut.

All info relating to the Denford ORAC CNC lathes

Moderators: Martin, Steve, Mr Magoo

Ridgeback
Hardware/Software: Denford Triac with original hardware/software
Denford Orac recently updated with Mac3

Post by Ridgeback » Mon 30 Jan , 2017 23:50 pm

Hi All,
I am quite new to the art of programming an Orac MWP84 which uses the “original software”. As such, I have spent many a long cold hour this winter in my garage logging the procedure for getting underway if you are like me, a relative novice. I hope my descriptions are clear enough to be followed by all newbies.
Read carefully, input with care, carry out as many “DRY RUNS” as are necessary and most importantly “I am not to blame if you crash your machine”.
I have given this an Issue 1 status so that alterations can be made and updated if necessary. Please get back to me if you find errors or typos which need up-dating.
Good Luck.
Colin.

(Issue. 1. Jan 2017)

Turn machine “ON” at mains switch (13 Amp socket outlet).
Wait a minute or so for the m/c to warm up & show info on the Green Screen display.
Chuck should have no resistance if turned manually.
You should have a basic program ready to enter into the m/c to begin with. (Use the example below.)
Green Screen display, press (5) ENTER NEW PROGRAM.
On the “DATA INPUT” pad, press 5, press E (this will take you to page 1 to begin your program).
Press the Double Down Arrows (DDA) to continue to the next page, when finish entering data.
Pg1. “DATA INPUT” Press G70/G71 (G70 = Imperial measure, G71 = Metric measure). DDA.
Pg2. “DATA INPUT” Press G90/G91 (G90 = Absolute measure, G91 = Incremental measure). DDA.
Pg3. “DATA INPUT” Press G50 (G50 = X & Z Datum positions). Enter X 25.0 E, Z 5.0 E. DDA.
Pg4. “DATA INPUT” Press M03 (M03 = Spindle ON in CW direction). DDA.