Orac Lathe retrofit

All info relating to the Denford ORAC CNC lathes

Moderators: Martin, Steve, Mr Magoo

xzibit206

Orac Lathe retrofit

Post by xzibit206 » Mon 22 Feb , 2010 11:32 am

Hey guys, been reading this forum for a while as I got a hold of a nice orac lathe.

Firstly a bit about me, I'm a 22 year old student studying mechanical engineering at strathclyde university in Glasgow. I recently got into CNC machines when I was set the task of building a 3 axis CNC frame for a plasma cutter and MIG welder for my 4th year project. Once you get bitten by the CNC bug you're hooked as I have found out! :)

The has been in storage for a number of years at a college before I managed to get a hold of it for a few hundred quid. The machine itself has been well looked after and mechanically is sound (probably only ever seen exceptionally soft materials). All the original electronics etc were working fine so what did I decide to do? Of course, take them out and retrofit a new mach 3 based system in :)

I thought I would start this thread to show my progress and potentially help others if they decide to do the same.

I'll post some pics once I find the cable for my camera.

bradders
CNC Guru
CNC Guru

Re: Orac Lathe retrofit

Post by bradders » Mon 22 Feb , 2010 11:39 am

Good luck with your new venture :D

Denford Admin
Site Admin
Hardware/Software: Go to User Control Panel > Profile
Enter as much information about your CNC hardware and software as you can - it makes it easier for everyone to know what you're talking about then.

Post by Denford Admin » Mon 22 Feb , 2010 11:43 am

Thanks for sharing!
I'm sure you're too young to remember the show, but this is where the name Orac came from:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Orac_(Blake's_7)

xzibit206

Post by xzibit206 » Mon 22 Feb , 2010 21:31 pm

Ok managed to upload a few pics. As you can see the lathe is in great condition apart from the slight tear on the keyboard cover. Both screws and motors run very nicely.