Can I transfer my Novamill control card to a novaturn?

All info relating to the Denford NovaTurn CNC lathes

Moderators: Martin, bradders, Steve, Mr Magoo

Post Reply
bpmsl
CNC Expert
CNC Expert
Posts: 142
Joined: Mon 16 Nov , 2009 10:00 am

Can I transfer my Novamill control card to a novaturn?

Post by bpmsl » Mon 12 Sep , 2016 20:14 pm

Hi,
I've fitted a modern control card to my novamill and was wondering if I can use my old novamill control card in my novaturn with my existing vrmillingv2.32 or vrturningv1_47 software and my novamill dongle / licence file?

I'm using FLstep on the novamill at the moment (with an old win 98 toughbook), and haven't found a budget control card yet that will drive my tool changer.

Any thoughts would be gratefully received.

Cheers
BPM

User avatar
Steve
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1337
Joined: Tue 21 Feb , 2006 16:15 pm
Location: Denford UK

Re: Can I transfer my Novamill control card to a novaturn?

Post by Steve » Fri 16 Sep , 2016 8:16 am

If you have a licence of VR Turning then it should be possible to fit the controller to the Nova Turn.

Is there a problem with the control card in the Turn?

bpmsl
CNC Expert
CNC Expert
Posts: 142
Joined: Mon 16 Nov , 2009 10:00 am

Re: Can I transfer my Novamill control card to a novaturn?

Post by bpmsl » Fri 16 Sep , 2016 10:37 am

The turn card is fine. Was just wondering if I could do the upgrade. I guess the most applicable question is will my VR Milling licence work with VR Turning?

User avatar
Steve
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1337
Joined: Tue 21 Feb , 2006 16:15 pm
Location: Denford UK

Re: Can I transfer my Novamill control card to a novaturn?

Post by Steve » Fri 16 Sep , 2016 11:41 am

The answer is no.

If the Turn is running Dos software and you want to run VR Turning Windows software the control card has to have the correct EPROM fitted and you need a seat of the VR Turning software to be able to use the VR Turning.

bpmsl
CNC Expert
CNC Expert
Posts: 142
Joined: Mon 16 Nov , 2009 10:00 am

Re: Can I transfer my Novamill control card to a novaturn?

Post by bpmsl » Fri 16 Sep , 2016 11:58 am

I have a couple of later eprom chips, but the key thing is my series 2 VR Milling licence won't work with VR Turning.

Thanks for the info.

Cheers
BPM

csuritattoo
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu 01 Apr , 2021 17:01 pm
Hardware/Software: DENFORD VR MILLING.

Re: Can I transfer my Novamill control card to a novaturn?

Post by csuritattoo » Thu 01 Apr , 2021 17:04 pm

hi! -for the novaturn have red segments control card ( but me have another one usb fitted with green segments from novamill that can I simple change it?). many thanks .

MadeForThat
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon 20 May , 2019 15:15 pm
Hardware/Software: Micromill 2000:
Nextstep-4 axis
Novaturn ns:
denstep card (from swap)-atc

Re: Can I transfer my Novamill control card to a novaturn?

Post by MadeForThat » Thu 01 Apr , 2021 18:15 pm

I have done this, and you shouldn't have any issues unless you have auxiliary equipment that needs a certain card. In my case I needed a 4th axis output from the card. The denstep card has 3, the next step had 4. So I swapped the card from my novaturn ns (next step (green display)) and the micromill (denstep (red display)) and I was able to break out the 4th axis on the next step. I don't remember there being much of an issue, but after the swap, I had to identify the lathe as a regular novaturn and not a novaturn ns. The micromill I identified as a different machine all together to use the 4th axis natively, but you should be able to name it the "NS" version of your machine.

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1804
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: Can I transfer my Novamill control card to a novaturn?

Post by Martin » Fri 02 Apr , 2021 10:36 am

You can run EasyUpgrader which is on the VR CNC Install disc to set what machine type is connected.

Post Reply