Novamill, first time in cnc (Mach conversion)

All info relating to the Denford Novamill CNC Milling machines

Moderators: Martin, Steve, Mr Magoo

angel-tech
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Hardware/Software: .....
4 Quatros
3 Oracs
2 Easiturn atc
12 station lathe atc
Mach 3

Novamill, first time in cnc (Mach conversion)

Post by angel-tech » Thu 30 Jul , 2009 13:16 pm

Hi everyone new to the forum and yes this is my first adventure into cnc, and i'm raring to go.

I've bought myself a Novamill which has dos software, and as i'm totally new to cnc is it worth upgrading to a windows based software package like mach3 or similar, or simply staying with the dos package?

I've spoken to the guys at Denford, and they have said i will need an upgrade to my board to use the Denford windows based software, if i went with Mach3 what would i need to change, and what sort of cost would be involved to do this.

Denford Admin
Site Admin
Hardware/Software: Go to User Control Panel > Profile
Enter as much information about your CNC hardware and software as you can - it makes it easier for everyone to know what you're talking about then.

Re: Novamill, first time in cnc.

Post by Denford Admin » Fri 31 Jul , 2009 11:45 am

In theory, you shouldn't have to change any hardware - it should be possible to attach Mach3 to the axis step and direction pins on the Baldor base-board
Depending on the spindle drive, you may need an isolated interface from the Mach3 spindle command to the drive, unless you wired it up manually with a potentiometer.
Same with the feed pot - I'm not familiar with how Mach caters for analogue or digital IO and am guessing much of it depends on the Mach interface board you get.

So, what I mean is, what you already have will work ok - you just need to work out how to interface it all to Mach - have a look through for others who have done similar stuff - I'm sure they'll be happy to advise:
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=1763&hilit=triac+mach
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=1823&hilit=triac+mach