1994 Mirac Auto tool changer motor problem.

All info relating to the Denford Mirac lathes

Moderators: Martin, Steve, Mr Magoo

darren2310
Hardware/Software: Mirac 1994.
Dos.

1994 Mirac Auto tool changer motor problem.

Post by darren2310 » Wed 12 Jan , 2022 8:40 am

Hi all I have recently purchased a 1994 Mirac, the machine is completely standard running Dos.
I am a mechanical engineer but when it comes to the electrical side of the machine I am very weak so I kindly request your support.

When tool changing the auto toolchanger would stop and need a ‘push’ to complete the tool change so I decided to strip the toolchanger and check for wear or lack of lubrication. The internals of the toolchanger were found to be in good condition so I removed the old grease and lubricated with oil as specified in the manual. I operated the toolchanger manually on the bench and found it to operate as expected.

I re-assembled, and tested and found the same issue!

I then re-soldered the wires to the rotary switch which were not great - result same issue.

I checked the retract limit switch and found no problems.

I then checked the motor. I removed it and selected a tool position, the motor would make a noise but would not spin. I ‘spun’ the motor shaft and then it would go with good torque. I hit reset on the machine, the shaft will then spin in the opposite direction for a second or two and the machine will then register the tool I selected - I’m guessing this suggests the logic diode array is working.

Now the main spindle will not run. Again, I’m guessing this may be a result of the fault condition of the toolchanger, or points toward the KEB Combivert?

Does the auto tool changer need a ‘kick’ from a capacitor to start moving? Is the problem likely to be with the KEB Combivert?

Sorry for the long post, I have run out of talent and I am completely in the dark on how to fix the machine so I’m desperate for your help.

Thank you Darren.

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru