4th axis

All info relating to the Denford large format CNC routers

Moderators: Martin, bradders, Steve, Mr Magoo

Post Reply
Phil
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun 24 Jun , 2012 18:09 pm
Hardware/Software: QuickCam 2D
QuickCam Pro
VR Milling 5
Denford Vertical Router

4th axis

Post by Phil » Mon 17 May , 2021 16:11 pm

Hello

We have a Vertical Router and plan to use the 4th Axis for the first time.

I presume I can mount the 4th Axis either horizontally or vertically as long as I have the x and y axis set appropriately in the QuickCam 4D CNC Output window. Is that correct?

Thanks
Phil

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1804
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: 4th axis

Post by Martin » Tue 18 May , 2021 18:23 pm

I think you have to set the orientation in Machine Capability.

IV axis - A,B,C, (1,2 or 3) we normally position it on the X axis & set it to 1.

Phil
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun 24 Jun , 2012 18:09 pm
Hardware/Software: QuickCam 2D
QuickCam Pro
VR Milling 5
Denford Vertical Router

Re: 4th axis

Post by Phil » Mon 24 May , 2021 11:48 am

RE: feed rate and spindle speed. The help PDF says see an appendix that is not there.

Using a 6mm ballnose on hardwood what might be a reasonable feed rate, spindle speed and roughing cut depth? I am thinking:

feed rate = 2000
spindle speed = 3000
roughing cut depth = 2mm

Do these sound about right?

TDIPower
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 595
Joined: Tue 29 Apr , 2014 18:38 pm
Hardware/Software: Starturn 5 (sort of running, I will get this done!)
Lathe cam designer V1.11
Quickturn 2D Design
FANUC offline and online programs.
Microrouter Pro NS V5 (microstep)
VR2 and VR5
Boxford VMC260
Techsoft 2d Design tools V1 > V2
ProDesktop
Fusion 360
Deskproto

Re: 4th axis

Post by TDIPower » Mon 24 May , 2021 17:38 pm

SpindleSpeedFeedRateInsert.pdf
(686.83 KiB) Downloaded 75 times
does this help

Phil
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun 24 Jun , 2012 18:09 pm
Hardware/Software: QuickCam 2D
QuickCam Pro
VR Milling 5
Denford Vertical Router

Re: 4th axis

Post by Phil » Tue 25 May , 2021 7:27 am

Yes, thanks. So very different to what I was considering.

TDIPower
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 595
Joined: Tue 29 Apr , 2014 18:38 pm
Hardware/Software: Starturn 5 (sort of running, I will get this done!)
Lathe cam designer V1.11
Quickturn 2D Design
FANUC offline and online programs.
Microrouter Pro NS V5 (microstep)
VR2 and VR5
Boxford VMC260
Techsoft 2d Design tools V1 > V2
ProDesktop
Fusion 360
Deskproto

Re: 4th axis

Post by TDIPower » Tue 25 May , 2021 17:46 pm

I did some light oak for a kids project at school. I learnt the hard way... a couple of cutters and waisted wood. Most important thing is rigidity, clamp it down! I had 18mm ply clamped to the machine, an 18mm ply sacrificial bed screwed into the back of the Oak and then to the 18mm clamped to the machine. I also has double sided tape between the oak and the bed for the bits i couldn't get screws in. Watch for chatter on the cutter

The 2 pieces were 3d profiles about 300 x 200 x 50mm each took about 3hrs to machine!
Pete

Phil
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun 24 Jun , 2012 18:09 pm
Hardware/Software: QuickCam 2D
QuickCam Pro
VR Milling 5
Denford Vertical Router

Re: 4th axis

Post by Phil » Wed 26 May , 2021 9:24 am

Thanks for the tip Pete. Not sure it is entirely relevant to my current attempt to use the 4th axis but I do a little 3D every now and again and am definitely interested in what you say.

And wow, that is some serious levels of securing the piece. I have only 3D cut mdf or ply. I clamp the pieces using tee-nuts on a sacrificial board that lives permanently secured to the machine. This involves adding "bridges" in the software that are cut off once the piece is removed from the router. This is a process I have developed by myself with no reference to anyone who knows what they are doing and may appal you experts here! I am going to look at what you have explained. One question: why do you use two layers of ply - is this because you have one permanently in place as a sacrificial board and so it is easier to secure the second ply to this rather than remove it?

Cheers
Phil

TDIPower
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 595
Joined: Tue 29 Apr , 2014 18:38 pm
Hardware/Software: Starturn 5 (sort of running, I will get this done!)
Lathe cam designer V1.11
Quickturn 2D Design
FANUC offline and online programs.
Microrouter Pro NS V5 (microstep)
VR2 and VR5
Boxford VMC260
Techsoft 2d Design tools V1 > V2
ProDesktop
Fusion 360
Deskproto

Re: 4th axis

Post by TDIPower » Wed 26 May , 2021 17:11 pm

I only did it for this job, normally I use the vacuum bed, It was really so I could secure the oak to the sac bed and then it was easier to secure that to the other in the machine. The microrouter doesn't have a bed as such, just 2 rails on the x.

I won't do anything like that again with a school project, just the time/risk is too much. Generally its just MDF flatpack type projects or 3d in model foam (I actually reground the tip of a 6mm drill to a ball nose so i could blast through foam at 60mm deep passes at 4m travel to keep the machine time down)

Pete

Phil
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun 24 Jun , 2012 18:09 pm
Hardware/Software: QuickCam 2D
QuickCam Pro
VR Milling 5
Denford Vertical Router

Re: 4th axis

Post by Phil » Thu 27 May , 2021 8:19 am

OK thanks Pete.

Post Reply