Microrouter Compact not homing

All info relating to the Denford MicroRouter Compact small routing machines

Moderators: Martin, bradders, Steve, Mr Magoo

Post Reply
Benny
CNC Expert
CNC Expert
Posts: 201
Joined: Fri 20 Oct , 2006 15:27 pm
Location: USA

Microrouter Compact not homing

Post by Benny » Tue 19 May , 2009 15:42 pm

Customer asks ....

Porter Cable motor would not come on, customer removed porter cable motor and plugged into wall outlet, same thing, so customer replaced motor brushes and the Porter Cable motor now works again.

Porter Cable motor reinstalled in machine and now customer having problems with homing all axis properly. All of the axis (X Y Z ) go to the extreme and ignore the limit switches. Customer has to press the E-STOP in order to shut down machine.

Customer replaced Z axis limit switch 1st and now the Z axis goes straight up and continues to make a grinding noise. Z is all the way up but the machine thinks it is not and so it continues to make grinding noise and tries to climb up.

Customer noticed that in back of the machine the SGR gray box on the bottom left (1st bus box you come to) has a green light, but it never lights up.

Could the Porter Cable motor have caused a short before the customer was able to replace the motor brushes?

Please advise on what to do. Thank you.

User avatar
bradders
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1251
Joined: Mon 13 Feb , 2006 12:35 pm
Location: Brighouse, England
Contact:

Post by bradders » Tue 19 May , 2009 15:51 pm

Is the 7 Segement display Illuminated, if so what is the colour and letter / Number ?

It could be the DATUM HOME INPUTS could have blown if all 3 axes are failing to home. See picture below. They should be 0v on the HOME inputs when the datum switch is not pressed (Wired NC with 0V going through) and up to +5V when the datum switch is activated
Attachments
Microrouter Compact Datum Switches.JPG
Microrouter Compact Datum Switches.JPG (15.56 KiB) Viewed 6990 times
Last edited by bradders on Wed 20 May , 2009 6:32 am, edited 3 times in total.

Benny
CNC Expert
CNC Expert
Posts: 201
Joined: Fri 20 Oct , 2006 15:27 pm
Location: USA

Microrouter Compact

Post by Benny » Tue 19 May , 2009 15:55 pm

Customer will check and let us know. Thanks

User avatar
Steve
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1340
Joined: Tue 21 Feb , 2006 16:15 pm
Location: Denford UK

Post by Steve » Tue 19 May , 2009 15:55 pm

The best way to fix this is to ignore what has gone on before.

The motor power is there are the axes move as is the 24VDC logic supply.

All that seems not to work is the axes home inputs.

It would be worth looking at the Compact Fault finding instructions as these are common to all the machines

viewtopic.php?t=1641

I would first measure on DC Volts the voltage on each of the Home inputs. Manually activate the switch and the input should drop from +5V to 0V.

If this does not happen chack the switch wiring.

If it does drop to zero then the external wiring is OK and the fault is in the processor card.

Benny
CNC Expert
CNC Expert
Posts: 201
Joined: Fri 20 Oct , 2006 15:27 pm
Location: USA

Post by Benny » Tue 19 May , 2009 15:59 pm

thank you
Last edited by Benny on Tue 19 May , 2009 15:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Steve
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1340
Joined: Tue 21 Feb , 2006 16:15 pm
Location: Denford UK

Post by Steve » Tue 19 May , 2009 15:59 pm

Attached is the Compact schematic.

Sheet 3 shows the control card wiring and sheet 4 the home switch wiring.
Attachments
Compact sheet 1.pdf
(27.49 KiB) Downloaded 565 times
Compact sheet 2.pdf
(34.21 KiB) Downloaded 610 times
Compact sheet 3.pdf
(64.23 KiB) Downloaded 535 times
Compact sheet 4.pdf
(36.97 KiB) Downloaded 601 times
Compact sheet 5.pdf
(10.81 KiB) Downloaded 575 times

User avatar
bradders
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1251
Joined: Mon 13 Feb , 2006 12:35 pm
Location: Brighouse, England
Contact:

Post by bradders » Tue 19 May , 2009 16:00 pm

Yes,
Its just down loaded for me

Benny
CNC Expert
CNC Expert
Posts: 201
Joined: Fri 20 Oct , 2006 15:27 pm
Location: USA

Microrouter Compact

Post by Benny » Tue 19 May , 2009 16:16 pm

Customer had not tightened / adjusted the Z axis limit switch properly. E-Stop wires all loose as well. Tightened/ adjusted limit switch and tightened up e-stop wire and now machine appears to work in all axis. Customer running a car program now and will call back if further issues.

Customer interested in knowing why the light does not come on for the SGR "box".

Does this affect performance of machine? Machine appears to work okay now. But should they replace the SGR "box" and if so what is the part number and cost (e-mail me)?

User avatar
Steve
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1340
Joined: Tue 21 Feb , 2006 16:15 pm
Location: Denford UK

Post by Steve » Wed 20 May , 2009 13:20 pm

The SGR is the Spindle Go Relay.

The light should only come on when the spindle is running.

If the spindle runs then the relay is functioning. :)

I suspect the LED is actually working but they have not checked with the spindle running. :oops:

Post Reply