X axis zero return

All info relating to the Denford Cyclone lathes

Moderators: Martin, bradders, Steve, Mr Magoo

Post Reply
mr_cnc
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu 06 Jun , 2019 13:08 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford Cyclone

X axis zero return

Post by mr_cnc » Thu 11 Mar , 2021 10:28 am

Good morning all, I've turned on my Cyclone this morning and she won't zero return in the x axis! I get error 510 (stroke limit) I've checked the reference switch that seems fine, does anyone know a way to check that the control is seeing that the switch is being made?

mr_cnc
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu 06 Jun , 2019 13:08 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford Cyclone

Re: X axis zero return

Post by mr_cnc » Thu 11 Mar , 2021 12:06 pm

sorry forgot to say its a Fanuc 0TA

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1807
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: X axis zero return

Post by Martin » Thu 11 Mar , 2021 20:58 pm

Power up the control while holding in "P" & "CAN" on the keypad.

mr_cnc
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu 06 Jun , 2019 13:08 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford Cyclone

Re: X axis zero return

Post by mr_cnc » Fri 12 Mar , 2021 8:14 am

hi Martin, tried that just runs up to the hard overtravel switch. It moves quickly up to reference switch but doesn't decelerate like it normally does when it gets close to the reference switch. I've moved the dog and it doesn't seem to be taking any notice of the switch at all, once the control reaches the 'Machine zero' on the 'Position' page it gives the 510 alarm. So I'm thinking that either the control isn't getting the signal from the switch or the encoder? I was hoping there was a way to check if the control getting the signal in the Diagnostics?

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1807
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: X axis zero return

Post by Martin » Fri 12 Mar , 2021 11:20 am

You should see the switch in the diagnostics as below.

The X axis datum switch is Diagnostic 16 bit 5
The Z axis datum switch is Diagnostic 17 bit 5

mr_cnc
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu 06 Jun , 2019 13:08 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford Cyclone

Re: X axis zero return

Post by mr_cnc » Fri 12 Mar , 2021 11:51 am

thanks Martin, the control is seeing the switch in the diagnostics so would you say I have an encoder problem? I'm assuming that the normal zero return method is that the axis moves until is see's the reference switch then the next encoder mark is the zero return? What parameters are ignored while holding P & Cancel?

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1807
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: X axis zero return

Post by Martin » Fri 12 Mar , 2021 20:53 pm

It moves towards the datum switch & slows down when it detects it. It then carries on for about 25mm at a slow speed until it comes off the switch then it looks for the next marker pulse from the motor & stops.

From what you report it does not slow down. Does it definitely activate the diagnostic during the home process?

mr_cnc
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu 06 Jun , 2019 13:08 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford Cyclone

Re: X axis zero return

Post by mr_cnc » Sun 14 Mar , 2021 10:12 am

sorry Martin, the switch was registering when I pressed it in the diagnostics but not with the dog, I don't know how it had moved but it must have! she's running again now thank you very much for your help it is greatly appreciated.

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1807
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: X axis zero return

Post by Martin » Sun 14 Mar , 2021 10:42 am

That is great news. Well done.

Post Reply