Denford Triac VMC mill 2000 - 2001

All info relating to the Denford Triac series of CNC milling machines

Moderators: Mr Magoo, Martin, bradders, Steve

Ade Taplin
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon 24 Jul , 2017 9:29 am
Hardware/Software: Denford Triac VMC mill
Location: Chandlers Ford (at my witts end)

Denford Triac VMC mill 2000 - 2001

Post by Ade Taplin » Fri 28 Jul , 2017 7:40 am

Hi all,

I have just obtained from a training school the above machine, which has been stood disconnected for a period of time. At first when I powered it up only the 2 fans ran in the control cabinet nothing at the monitor so it was recommended that I try a boot disk only to find the floppy drive had packed up. I purchased a new floppy drive which seems to be working but im still not getting anything at the monitor, I tried a different monitor and it was receiving NO SIGNAL. not sure what else I can do now it has the integral PC not a tower unit. Can anyone please help as I have no idea where to go now. It also appears to have 2 batteries on separate boards if these have gone flat would that stop the PC from working.
Attachments
JPEG002.JPG
JPEG002.JPG (143.82 KiB) Viewed 2187 times
JPEG001.JPG
JPEG001.JPG (188.32 KiB) Viewed 2187 times
Last edited by Ade Taplin on Fri 28 Jul , 2017 12:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1678
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: Denford Triac VMC mill 2000 - 2001

Post by Martin » Fri 28 Jul , 2017 9:33 am

The battery on the computer would just be for the bios so it would not stop the computer powering up.

Can you check the computer power supply is powered up.

Ade Taplin
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon 24 Jul , 2017 9:29 am
Hardware/Software: Denford Triac VMC mill
Location: Chandlers Ford (at my witts end)

Re: Denford Triac VMC mill 2000 - 2001

Post by Ade Taplin » Fri 28 Jul , 2017 12:12 pm

Hi Martin

thanks for the advise I will check that out later today, I have attached a couple of pics.

Ade Taplin
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon 24 Jul , 2017 9:29 am
Hardware/Software: Denford Triac VMC mill
Location: Chandlers Ford (at my witts end)

Re: Denford Triac VMC mill 2000 - 2001

Post by Ade Taplin » Fri 28 Jul , 2017 17:17 pm

Hi again I have checked out the supply to the board that I believe is the pc all I can say is that the fan on the board is running. I have tried to attach a pic that ive pointed to in red these are the 2 boards i believe are the brains.

Cheers Ade
Attachments
20170728_171353.jpg
20170728_171353.jpg (414.64 KiB) Viewed 2181 times

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1678
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: Denford Triac VMC mill 2000 - 2001

Post by Martin » Fri 28 Jul , 2017 21:56 pm

The DSP computer is the board on the left.

I did not realise that you have a servo machine. It may be worth connecting a qwerty keyboard & powering it up to see if lights up. To get in to the bios you need to press Ctrl + Alt + s at the same time.

Ade Taplin
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon 24 Jul , 2017 9:29 am
Hardware/Software: Denford Triac VMC mill
Location: Chandlers Ford (at my witts end)

Re: Denford Triac VMC mill 2000 - 2001

Post by Ade Taplin » Sat 29 Jul , 2017 14:52 pm

Hi Martin thanks again for the advice i tried a qwerty keyboard but still nothing, i know i keep on about the batteries but they are only reading 0.02 volts. Do you think changing these might help or have I got a large paper weight.

Cheers Ade

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1678
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: Denford Triac VMC mill 2000 - 2001

Post by Martin » Mon 31 Jul , 2017 8:02 am

I don't think either battery will be stopping the PC turning on. You could try reseating the computer.

Remove the retaining strip from the front of the rack.
Slide the DSP computer forward until it disconnects from the back card.
push the PC back in.

Ade Taplin
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon 24 Jul , 2017 9:29 am
Hardware/Software: Denford Triac VMC mill
Location: Chandlers Ford (at my witts end)

Re: Denford Triac VMC mill 2000 - 2001

Post by Ade Taplin » Mon 31 Jul , 2017 8:42 am

Hi Martin

I have tried reseating the board. If the board is faulty do you know if I can get a replacement.

Cheers Ade

Ade Taplin
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon 24 Jul , 2017 9:29 am
Hardware/Software: Denford Triac VMC mill
Location: Chandlers Ford (at my witts end)

Re: Denford Triac VMC mill 2000 - 2001

Post by Ade Taplin » Wed 02 Aug , 2017 9:07 am

I have now soldered in a new battery to the DSP board and now the monitor has come to life :D I inserted a MS DOS start up floppy in the drive but im still seeing the text in the photo, not sure where to go now. any ideas

cheers Ade
Attachments
monitor 1.jpg
monitor 1.jpg (446.93 KiB) Viewed 2137 times

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1678
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: Denford Triac VMC mill 2000 - 2001

Post by Martin » Thu 03 Aug , 2017 8:44 am

That's great.

You need to set the computer bios to enable the floppy disc drive.

You will need to connect a computer keyboard to the computer. If you then let it boot up & leave it for a minute you can then enter the Bios by pressing CTR+ALT+S at the same time.

Floppy Drive A should be set to 3 1/2" 1.44MB

Ade Taplin
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon 24 Jul , 2017 9:29 am
Hardware/Software: Denford Triac VMC mill
Location: Chandlers Ford (at my witts end)

Re: Denford Triac VMC mill 2000 - 2001

Post by Ade Taplin » Thu 03 Aug , 2017 18:59 pm

Hi should it boot from drive C or A

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1678
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: Denford Triac VMC mill 2000 - 2001

Post by Martin » Thu 03 Aug , 2017 21:53 pm

I don't think you have a C drive looking at the pictures.

The Floppy drive is the A drive but its probally set to a 5 1/4" drive

Ade Taplin
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon 24 Jul , 2017 9:29 am
Hardware/Software: Denford Triac VMC mill
Location: Chandlers Ford (at my witts end)

Re: Denford Triac VMC mill 2000 - 2001

Post by Ade Taplin » Fri 04 Aug , 2017 11:36 am

Hi Martin

Looking at the first picture in this thread, would you say it is Fanuc or Hedinhaine?

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1678
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: Denford Triac VMC mill 2000 - 2001

Post by Martin » Sat 05 Aug , 2017 11:15 am

The overlays slide in and out & are interchangeable. The overlay in the picture is a Heidenhain. Have you got any others?

Ade Taplin
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon 24 Jul , 2017 9:29 am
Hardware/Software: Denford Triac VMC mill
Location: Chandlers Ford (at my witts end)

Re: Denford Triac VMC mill 2000 - 2001

Post by Ade Taplin » Sat 05 Aug , 2017 18:37 pm

Hi thanks for the advice but I only have the one that came with the mill. I am still battling to get the os loaded.

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1678
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: Denford Triac VMC mill 2000 - 2001

Post by Martin » Sun 06 Aug , 2017 12:35 pm

Have you managed to change the Bios settings for the Floppy Disc Drive?

Ade Taplin
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon 24 Jul , 2017 9:29 am
Hardware/Software: Denford Triac VMC mill
Location: Chandlers Ford (at my witts end)

Re: Denford Triac VMC mill 2000 - 2001

Post by Ade Taplin » Sun 06 Aug , 2017 17:29 pm

Hi yes I've managed to change that do I need to download .Opt and .goon 1 disc or is there something else i need to download.

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1678
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: Denford Triac VMC mill 2000 - 2001

Post by Martin » Sun 06 Aug , 2017 18:23 pm

You will nned to download Drivers.zip,Drivers2 & Heiden.zip & load it on a system boot disc.

http://website.denford.ltd.uk/dos-vinta ... formation/

Ade Taplin
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon 24 Jul , 2017 9:29 am
Hardware/Software: Denford Triac VMC mill
Location: Chandlers Ford (at my witts end)

Re: Denford Triac VMC mill 2000 - 2001

Post by Ade Taplin » Sun 06 Aug , 2017 19:41 pm

Really appreciate the advice I will try tomorrow

Ade Taplin
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon 24 Jul , 2017 9:29 am
Hardware/Software: Denford Triac VMC mill
Location: Chandlers Ford (at my witts end)

Re: Denford Triac VMC mill 2000 - 2001

Post by Ade Taplin » Wed 09 Aug , 2017 7:20 am

Hi Martin
I had our IT department make me up a disc with all the drivers that you recommended, when I load this up the monitor is displaying 'No system on disk'  do you have any ideas what I can do now.

 

 
Attachments
20170808_203933.jpg
20170808_203933.jpg (78.98 KiB) Viewed 2031 times

Post Reply