VMC 1300 Pro spindle won't turn

Information and questions about Denford CNC Control electronics, general electrical issues, cables, diagrams, stepper motors, drives etc...

Moderators: Martin, bradders, Steve, Mr Magoo

Post Reply
johnparker
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon 16 May , 2016 20:18 pm
Hardware/Software: VMC 1300 Pro

VMC 1300 Pro spindle won't turn

Post by johnparker » Sun 09 Dec , 2018 19:37 pm

My VMC1300 will jog fine, but no spindle action. The Microflex LED is red on power up, then flashing red/green briefly before going back red, so disabled.
I checked the Debug Machine I/O page, and it shows the Estop Enable rly unchecked (see pic). I tested the Emergency Stop button, and can hear the relay and see the Control Panel status change. Tried on/off a few times, but no Estop Enable rly checked.
Estop test.png
Estop test.png (69.81 KiB) Viewed 1822 times
Estop not enable rly.png
Estop not enable rly.png (97.57 KiB) Viewed 1822 times
BTW, I tried to start the spindle on control Panel and by running a program.

Any suggestions for more diagnosis welcome

johnparker
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon 16 May , 2016 20:18 pm
Hardware/Software: VMC 1300 Pro

Re: VMC 1300 Pro spindle won't turn

Post by johnparker » Mon 10 Dec , 2018 22:03 pm

I thought it probably helpful to include an image when the spindle is "started". No rotation, but I heard a relay click. Indicators annotated based on a post "INPUT AND OUTPUT ALLOCATION ON A VMC1300"
start spindle.PNG
start spindle.PNG (101.41 KiB) Viewed 1814 times

johnparker
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon 16 May , 2016 20:18 pm
Hardware/Software: VMC 1300 Pro

Re: VMC 1300 Pro spindle won't turn

Post by johnparker » Wed 12 Dec , 2018 22:18 pm

I'm still working on my lack of spindle. Given the E-Stop error in first posts, I've been examining the E-Stop relay. 2 images, one with no power on the machine, the second with the spindle "on" via V5 Milling (but not turning). Confirming the MicroFlex led is still red when the spindle is "on"
E-Stop no power.jpg
E-Stop no power.jpg (104.97 KiB) Viewed 1806 times
E-stop Spindle on.jpg
E-stop Spindle on.jpg (101.33 KiB) Viewed 1806 times
I understand from other posts I found, that the spindle contacts are the lower row, both left and center connected in parallel

johnparker
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon 16 May , 2016 20:18 pm
Hardware/Software: VMC 1300 Pro

Re: VMC 1300 Pro spindle won't turn

Post by johnparker » Thu 13 Dec , 2018 22:54 pm

Doh!
Fixed the problem. I resorted to saving a machine file, unzipping it and reading the MNT file looking for clues.
Machine cover interlock switch - I disabled it ages ago when I first got the machine, and forgot - saw the MachineSafe clue in the code.
Anyway, sorted, lesson learned

TDIPower
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 551
Joined: Tue 29 Apr , 2014 18:38 pm
Hardware/Software: Starturn 5 (sort of running, I will get this done!)
Lathe cam designer V1.11
Quickturn 2D Design
FANUC offline and online programs.
Microrouter Pro NS V5 (microstep)
VR2 and VR5
Boxford VMC260
Techsoft 2d Design tools V1 > V2
ProDesktop
Fusion 360
Deskproto

Re: VMC 1300 Pro spindle won't turn

Post by TDIPower » Thu 13 Dec , 2018 23:03 pm

Good stuff! I've not done anything with these machines but know that feeling when you put out the cry for help and you don't get any back quick enough. Just taking the time to do the post can sometimes be enough to get the grey matter in gear :)

Pete

johnparker
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon 16 May , 2016 20:18 pm
Hardware/Software: VMC 1300 Pro

Re: VMC 1300 Pro spindle won't turn

Post by johnparker » Thu 13 Dec , 2018 23:26 pm

It def helps to write down the thinking to work out the answer!

Post Reply