X axis Issue (videos inside)

All info relating to the Denford Triac series of CNC milling machines

Moderators: Mr Magoo, Martin, bradders, Steve

Post Reply
andy_con
CNC Expert
CNC Expert
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri 05 Oct , 2012 20:06 pm
Hardware/Software: Triac Vmc with 6 station ATC
Starmills with ATC

X axis Issue (videos inside)

Post by andy_con » Thu 24 Mar , 2016 22:44 pm

got some issues with the x axis, every few months it snaps the belt.

please watch these videos closely

here my holding the stepper by hand trying to keep it as straight as possible, you can clearly see the stepper jumping.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zIy6T6yE9jY

so now to try narrow down if its the stepper of x axis

you can clearly see the drill here jumping

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lp-cu9Hml1s

very wobbly drill

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nsxI3tgn-xE


anything got any thoughts?

angel-tech
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue 14 Nov , 2006 12:12 pm
Hardware/Software: .....
4 Quatros
3 Oracs
2 Easiturn atc
12 station lathe atc
Mach 3
Location: Quatroland

Re: X axis Issue (videos inside)

Post by angel-tech » Fri 25 Mar , 2016 1:51 am

Have you got the correct belt, you may have a metric belt on an imperial pulley.

andy_con
CNC Expert
CNC Expert
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri 05 Oct , 2012 20:06 pm
Hardware/Software: Triac Vmc with 6 station ATC
Starmills with ATC

Re: X axis Issue (videos inside)

Post by andy_con » Fri 25 Mar , 2016 8:09 am

The current belt I got off ebay

Is this the correct belt?

http://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/timing-belts/4749434/

angel-tech
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue 14 Nov , 2006 12:12 pm
Hardware/Software: .....
4 Quatros
3 Oracs
2 Easiturn atc
12 station lathe atc
Mach 3
Location: Quatroland

Re: X axis Issue (videos inside)

Post by angel-tech » Fri 25 Mar , 2016 12:20 pm

Looks like the right one, how about the grub screws holding the pulley on could it be proud of the pulley surface.

toby1995
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat 12 Mar , 2016 16:10 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford VR Milling
Bobcad V28 Mill/Turn CadCam software
Fanuc
Haas
Heidenhain
Inspect3D

Re: X axis Issue (videos inside)

Post by toby1995 » Sun 27 Mar , 2016 15:16 pm

I'm having an issue with my x axis on my triac also. it machines circular parts with steps as if the datum point shifts. no matter what speeds i use it always shifts
I've bought a new stepper motor for it that was supposed to be the correct one. but it has 8 wires instead of 4. looks exactly the same as the one in your video.

angel-tech
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue 14 Nov , 2006 12:12 pm
Hardware/Software: .....
4 Quatros
3 Oracs
2 Easiturn atc
12 station lathe atc
Mach 3
Location: Quatroland

Re: X axis Issue (videos inside)

Post by angel-tech » Sun 27 Mar , 2016 15:42 pm

check the x and y gibs and drive end bearings

andy_con
CNC Expert
CNC Expert
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri 05 Oct , 2012 20:06 pm
Hardware/Software: Triac Vmc with 6 station ATC
Starmills with ATC

Re: X axis Issue (videos inside)

Post by andy_con » Mon 28 Mar , 2016 21:51 pm

toby1995 wrote:I'm having an issue with my x axis on my triac also. it machines circular parts with steps as if the datum point shifts. no matter what speeds i use it always shifts
I've bought a new stepper motor for it that was supposed to be the correct one. but it has 8 wires instead of 4. looks exactly the same as the one in your video.
when you removed the original stepper from your triac how many wires were being used?

toby1995
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat 12 Mar , 2016 16:10 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford VR Milling
Bobcad V28 Mill/Turn CadCam software
Fanuc
Haas
Heidenhain
Inspect3D

Re: X axis Issue (videos inside)

Post by toby1995 » Tue 29 Mar , 2016 3:14 am

i haven't removed the original motor but it has 4 wires, i bought a replacement just like in the video and it has 8 wires.

andy_con
CNC Expert
CNC Expert
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri 05 Oct , 2012 20:06 pm
Hardware/Software: Triac Vmc with 6 station ATC
Starmills with ATC

Re: X axis Issue (videos inside)

Post by andy_con » Tue 29 Mar , 2016 16:14 pm

toby1995 wrote:i haven't removed the original motor but it has 4 wires, i bought a replacement just like in the video and it has 8 wires.
I bet if you strip the wire leading to the original stepper there is actually 8 in there

toby1995
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat 12 Mar , 2016 16:10 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford VR Milling
Bobcad V28 Mill/Turn CadCam software
Fanuc
Haas
Heidenhain
Inspect3D

Re: X axis Issue (videos inside)

Post by toby1995 » Tue 29 Mar , 2016 17:28 pm

turns out it was 8 wires but was just using 4 like you suggested.i accidentally shorted the extra wires and had to replace the fuse on the axis "0" drive board. I've just wired up my new motor and ill do some accuracy tests when done to see if it can machine circles accurately now.
the new motor takes a lot more torque to rotate it when no power is present. the old one was smooth and i think it may have been knackered as their should be some resistance to being rotated but there was almost none

toby1995
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat 12 Mar , 2016 16:10 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford VR Milling
Bobcad V28 Mill/Turn CadCam software
Fanuc
Haas
Heidenhain
Inspect3D

Re: X axis Issue (videos inside)

Post by toby1995 » Wed 30 Mar , 2016 17:52 pm

all sorted! accurate little machine now. thanks for the advice :)

andy_con
CNC Expert
CNC Expert
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri 05 Oct , 2012 20:06 pm
Hardware/Software: Triac Vmc with 6 station ATC
Starmills with ATC

Re: X axis Issue (videos inside)

Post by andy_con » Wed 30 Mar , 2016 22:33 pm

the issue was the stepper?

toby1995
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat 12 Mar , 2016 16:10 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford VR Milling
Bobcad V28 Mill/Turn CadCam software
Fanuc
Haas
Heidenhain
Inspect3D

Re: X axis Issue (videos inside)

Post by toby1995 » Thu 31 Mar , 2016 12:06 pm

its appears to be. it must have been worn somehow. i have no issues when machining now. is this problem with steppers uncommon?

Post Reply