triac not machining properly. loosing steps??

All info relating to the Denford Triac series of CNC milling machines

Moderators: Mr Magoo, Martin, bradders, Steve

Post Reply
toby1995
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat 12 Mar , 2016 16:10 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford VR Milling
Bobcad V28 Mill/Turn CadCam software
Fanuc
Haas
Heidenhain
Inspect3D

triac not machining properly. loosing steps??

Post by toby1995 » Sat 19 Mar , 2016 17:42 pm

hi everyone.

a newbie to using triac cnc mills.
I've come across an issue on my triac when machining circular toolpaths. it machines circles out of round weather its external or internal. it will randomly leave notches in the machine finish were it has dug into the material. I've checked the programs are correct. has anybody else had this problem? if so how is it sorted? its becoming more than annoying now

thanks in advance for replies
toby

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1678
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: triac not machining properly. loosing steps??

Post by Martin » Mon 21 Mar , 2016 10:50 am

What software are you using?

toby1995
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat 12 Mar , 2016 16:10 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford VR Milling
Bobcad V28 Mill/Turn CadCam software
Fanuc
Haas
Heidenhain
Inspect3D

Re: triac not machining properly. loosing steps??

Post by toby1995 » Mon 21 Mar , 2016 21:11 pm

denford vr milling v5 software with bobcad v28 mill

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1678
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: triac not machining properly. loosing steps??

Post by Martin » Tue 22 Mar , 2016 10:54 am

Have you updated to the latest version of VRMilling?

VRMilling 5.63

http://website.denford.ltd.uk/index.php ... -downloads

toby1995
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat 12 Mar , 2016 16:10 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford VR Milling
Bobcad V28 Mill/Turn CadCam software
Fanuc
Haas
Heidenhain
Inspect3D

Re: triac not machining properly. loosing steps??

Post by toby1995 » Thu 24 Mar , 2016 0:39 am

no i haven't i have 5.62 will update and see if it helps. also just for future reference is there a good place to get parts for triac machines?

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1678
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: triac not machining properly. loosing steps??

Post by Martin » Thu 24 Mar , 2016 10:30 am

I don't think the software will make a difference if you are on 5.62.

What about backlash? Can you post a photo of the circle it machines?

toby1995
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat 12 Mar , 2016 16:10 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford VR Milling
Bobcad V28 Mill/Turn CadCam software
Fanuc
Haas
Heidenhain
Inspect3D

Re: triac not machining properly. loosing steps??

Post by toby1995 » Thu 24 Mar , 2016 12:35 pm

it only seems to be on a certain point on the traverse of the x axis. if i use the far left of the table for machining it does fine, if i use the other side of the table it doesn't like machining circular paths and when facing it leaves lines as if it needs tramming. but this is only on one half of the x axis so I'm not sure what to do here, its getting me quite concerned. as theres only so much you can do with a gib strip when it seems your sideways are unevenly worn
i will upload some photos shortly today

toby1995
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat 12 Mar , 2016 16:10 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford VR Milling
Bobcad V28 Mill/Turn CadCam software
Fanuc
Haas
Heidenhain
Inspect3D

Re: triac not machining properly. loosing steps??

Post by toby1995 » Thu 24 Mar , 2016 12:39 pm

and I've checked for backlash. all good there I'm only getting between 0.008 and 0.01 backlash and have coded in the backlash value in VR milling to compensate. and wrote a figure of "10" to correspond with how many microns of backlash there is. in Fanuc control systems this is the correct way, is VR milling the same? as its Fanuc based

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1678
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: triac not machining properly. loosing steps??

Post by Martin » Thu 24 Mar , 2016 17:04 pm

VR Milling does not compensate for backlash even though you can input the figures.

It could be a broken wire which shows up when you have the bed in certain positions. I would jog the bed to where you think it is bad & wiggle the wire. Listen for the stepper motor changing pitch.

toby1995
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat 12 Mar , 2016 16:10 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford VR Milling
Bobcad V28 Mill/Turn CadCam software
Fanuc
Haas
Heidenhain
Inspect3D

Re: triac not machining properly. loosing steps??

Post by toby1995 » Sun 27 Mar , 2016 14:55 pm

no change in pitch and wires seem to be connected okay with no breaks. is it possible its the electronics in the main cabinet of machine? like the drive boards?

toby1995
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat 12 Mar , 2016 16:10 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford VR Milling
Bobcad V28 Mill/Turn CadCam software
Fanuc
Haas
Heidenhain
Inspect3D

Re: triac not machining properly. loosing steps??

Post by toby1995 » Sun 27 Mar , 2016 22:55 pm

i tried some engraving today and it came out double lined after i retuned for a clean up pass at the same depth. one line was clearly cut atleast 0.8 mm from were it last cut. i only get this with the x axis. i will try to post up some photos asap

toby1995
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat 12 Mar , 2016 16:10 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford VR Milling
Bobcad V28 Mill/Turn CadCam software
Fanuc
Haas
Heidenhain
Inspect3D

Re: triac not machining properly. loosing steps??

Post by toby1995 » Wed 30 Mar , 2016 17:53 pm

machine is sorted now. turned out to be a worn stepper motor. the machine is cutting smoothly and accurately now. thanks for the advice :)

toby1995
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat 12 Mar , 2016 16:10 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford VR Milling
Bobcad V28 Mill/Turn CadCam software
Fanuc
Haas
Heidenhain
Inspect3D

Re: triac not machining properly. loosing steps??

Post by toby1995 » Mon 18 Apr , 2016 14:31 pm

is there likely to be an updated version of vr milling software that actually compensates for backlash? i don't see any point in being able to just input the figures for the software to do nothing with that information.

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1678
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: triac not machining properly. loosing steps??

Post by Martin » Wed 20 Apr , 2016 9:32 am

I am not aware of any plans to use the backlash facility. I agree it should not be present if it is not active. I will have a word with our IT.

toby1995
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat 12 Mar , 2016 16:10 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford VR Milling
Bobcad V28 Mill/Turn CadCam software
Fanuc
Haas
Heidenhain
Inspect3D

Re: triac not machining properly. loosing steps??

Post by toby1995 » Thu 21 Apr , 2016 13:24 pm

thankyou martin, would be a lot of help!

toby1995
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat 12 Mar , 2016 16:10 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford VR Milling
Bobcad V28 Mill/Turn CadCam software
Fanuc
Haas
Heidenhain
Inspect3D

Re: triac not machining properly. loosing steps??

Post by toby1995 » Mon 13 Jun , 2016 14:06 pm

hi martin is there any more news regarding the backlash facility in vr milling? I'm having to draw my round parts out of round on my cam in order for the machine to machine it correctly lol

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1678
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: triac not machining properly. loosing steps??

Post by Martin » Mon 13 Jun , 2016 14:57 pm

I don't think we have any plans to insert Compensation at any point.

Post Reply