Tormach TTS on Triac R8 spindle

All info relating to the Denford Triac series of CNC milling machines

Moderators: Steve, Mr Magoo, Martin, bradders

Post Reply
89triac
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed 08 Jul , 2015 17:28 pm
Hardware/Software: 1989 Denford Triac

Tormach TTS on Triac R8 spindle

Post by 89triac » Sun 12 Jul , 2015 11:55 am

Has anyone ever tried using tormach TTS on a Triac with R8 spindle?

I am considering it, as it would be very handy with a pneumatic drawbar and would allow a later upgrade to a toolchanger. The tool shank looks qute a bit shorter than the standard BT30 / BT35 tapers with pullstud, which would allow a toolchanger to sit even higher to giver more Z-axis space.

http://www.tormach.com/product_tts2.html

andy_con
CNC Expert
CNC Expert
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri 05 Oct , 2012 20:06 pm
Hardware/Software: Triac Vmc with 6 station ATC
Starmills with ATC

Re: Tormach TTS on Triac R8 spindle

Post by andy_con » Sun 12 Jul , 2015 15:56 pm

I use a tormach probe and id highly recommend it/them

https://youtu.be/VkwiLuAFVkY

89triac
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed 08 Jul , 2015 17:28 pm
Hardware/Software: 1989 Denford Triac

Re: Tormach TTS on Triac R8 spindle

Post by 89triac » Sun 12 Jul , 2015 17:20 pm

The probe looks nice, would like to get one of those eventually.

I was mainly thinking of experiences using the Tormach quick change tooling system with an R8 collet and toolholders with suitable cylindrical shank.

89triac
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed 08 Jul , 2015 17:28 pm
Hardware/Software: 1989 Denford Triac

Re: Tormach TTS on Triac R8 spindle

Post by 89triac » Tue 02 Feb , 2016 19:44 pm

I'll reply to my own question.
I bought a collet and a ER32 collet holder from Tormach to check it out, and it fits perfectly. It also features a small reduction in tool length. Now I just need to figure out the axial force that Tormach recommend for the drawbar, so i can start designing a quick change setup.

Here's the comparison between the R8 ER40 tool holder that came with the machine and the Tormach R8 collet and ER32 tool holder
2016-01-28 20-17-30_0002_resize.JPG
2016-01-28 20-17-30_0002_resize.JPG (105.38 KiB) Viewed 3144 times
2016-01-28 20-17-25_0003_resize.JPG
2016-01-28 20-17-25_0003_resize.JPG (106.34 KiB) Viewed 3144 times

It fitted nicely to the spindle, i just needed a new drawbar bolt as the threads were imperial.
2016-01-28 20-25-39_0001_resize.JPG
2016-01-28 20-25-39_0001_resize.JPG (77.4 KiB) Viewed 3144 times

toby1995
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat 12 Mar , 2016 16:10 pm
Hardware/Software: Denford VR Milling
Bobcad V28 Mill/Turn CadCam software
Fanuc
Haas
Heidenhain
Inspect3D

Re: Tormach TTS on Triac R8 spindle

Post by toby1995 » Thu 04 Aug , 2016 21:51 pm

did your triac come with an R8 spindle taper??? I'm looking to upgrade my triac wherever i can, I've got the standard P.C without tool changer and i retrofitted a coolant system on it which works well. I'm looking to hopefully retrofit a tool changer and better positioning motors, ideally a closed loop AC servo system.

User avatar
rasp
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed 06 Feb , 2008 18:33 pm

Re: Tormach TTS on Triac R8 spindle

Post by rasp » Wed 28 Dec , 2016 21:28 pm

The common problem with the Tormach TTS is pull down, on small cutters its not too bad but face mills and high helix cutters can be fun to say the least. Its not the best system, a BT30 conversion would be far better and the tooling is easy to get, £20 for a ER20 (1-13mm) collet chuck is great value.

Marcus
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed 19 Apr , 2017 15:36 pm
Hardware/Software: Triac

Re: Tormach TTS on Triac R8 spindle

Post by Marcus » Wed 19 Apr , 2017 15:44 pm

89triac wrote:I'll reply to my own question.
I bought a collet and a ER32 collet holder from Tormach to check it out, and it fits perfectly. It also features a small reduction in tool length. Now I just need to figure out the axial force that Tormach recommend for the drawbar, so i can start designing a quick change setup.

Here's the comparison between the R8 ER40 tool holder that came with the machine and the Tormach R8 collet and ER32 tool holder
2016-01-28 20-17-30_0002_resize.JPG
2016-01-28 20-17-25_0003_resize.JPG

It fitted nicely to the spindle, i just needed a new drawbar bolt as the threads were imperial.
2016-01-28 20-25-39_0001_resize.JPG


How did you get on with this system I'm about to try and fit it on my older R8 Triac, I see you can get cheaper Chinese made tool holders which are quite well made.
What do you use for a draw bar and did you manage to do a pneumatic quick change? Thanks Marcus

Post Reply