Triac Coolant Pump

All info relating to the Denford Triac series of CNC milling machines

Moderators: Mr Magoo, Martin, bradders, Steve

Post Reply
andy_con
CNC Expert
CNC Expert
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri 05 Oct , 2012 20:06 pm
Hardware/Software: Triac Vmc with 6 station ATC
Starmills with ATC

Triac Coolant Pump

Post by andy_con » Fri 15 Nov , 2013 16:18 pm

I don't have much luck with my triac, the coolant pump is on its way out.

is there a suitable replacement that I can just drop in?

anyone got any info or links?

angel-tech
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue 14 Nov , 2006 12:12 pm
Hardware/Software: .....
4 Quatros
3 Oracs
2 Easiturn atc
12 station lathe atc
Mach 3
Location: Quatroland

Re: Triac Coolant Pump

Post by angel-tech » Fri 15 Nov , 2013 18:06 pm

Does it give poor pressure.

try taking the plastic pump apart and re-flatten the surfaces, they can leak through the casing giving poor pressure.
I've repaired one before using this method, and it works well.

andy_con
CNC Expert
CNC Expert
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri 05 Oct , 2012 20:06 pm
Hardware/Software: Triac Vmc with 6 station ATC
Starmills with ATC

Re: Triac Coolant Pump

Post by andy_con » Fri 15 Nov , 2013 20:01 pm

no, the pump wasn't doing anything. so unbolted it and the main spindle was jammed, when I turned it, it made a grinding noise. it now works but is louder than the machine its self

angel-tech
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue 14 Nov , 2006 12:12 pm
Hardware/Software: .....
4 Quatros
3 Oracs
2 Easiturn atc
12 station lathe atc
Mach 3
Location: Quatroland

Re: Triac Coolant Pump

Post by angel-tech » Fri 15 Nov , 2013 20:14 pm

replace the bearings, sounds like they're shot

andy_con
CNC Expert
CNC Expert
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri 05 Oct , 2012 20:06 pm
Hardware/Software: Triac Vmc with 6 station ATC
Starmills with ATC

Re: Triac Coolant Pump

Post by andy_con » Fri 15 Nov , 2013 20:25 pm

is there a direct replacement for the entire pump?

rather than faff around with bearings I might as well replace the 15 year old pump

angel-tech
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue 14 Nov , 2006 12:12 pm
Hardware/Software: .....
4 Quatros
3 Oracs
2 Easiturn atc
12 station lathe atc
Mach 3
Location: Quatroland

Re: Triac Coolant Pump

Post by angel-tech » Fri 15 Nov , 2013 20:41 pm

probably, it'll be around £150 ish

andy_con
CNC Expert
CNC Expert
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri 05 Oct , 2012 20:06 pm
Hardware/Software: Triac Vmc with 6 station ATC
Starmills with ATC

Re: Triac Coolant Pump

Post by andy_con » Fri 15 Nov , 2013 20:44 pm

that's fine, got any links?

angel-tech
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue 14 Nov , 2006 12:12 pm
Hardware/Software: .....
4 Quatros
3 Oracs
2 Easiturn atc
12 station lathe atc
Mach 3
Location: Quatroland

Re: Triac Coolant Pump

Post by angel-tech » Fri 15 Nov , 2013 20:53 pm

just a guess on the price, but the problem you're going to have is getting one the correct depth.

andy_con
CNC Expert
CNC Expert
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri 05 Oct , 2012 20:06 pm
Hardware/Software: Triac Vmc with 6 station ATC
Starmills with ATC

Re: Triac Coolant Pump

Post by andy_con » Fri 15 Nov , 2013 20:56 pm

nothing with this machine is simple ;)

angel-tech
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue 14 Nov , 2006 12:12 pm
Hardware/Software: .....
4 Quatros
3 Oracs
2 Easiturn atc
12 station lathe atc
Mach 3
Location: Quatroland

Re: Triac Coolant Pump

Post by angel-tech » Fri 15 Nov , 2013 23:09 pm

you'll get there mate. The bearings are really cheap and easy to replace.

User avatar
Lone_Ranger
CNC Expert
CNC Expert
Posts: 203
Joined: Mon 01 Oct , 2007 15:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Triac Coolant Pump

Post by Lone_Ranger » Tue 19 Nov , 2013 22:34 pm

.

Try here :-

http://www.rotagriponline.com/index.php ... &Itemid=29

I got one from them for my Triac PC, if memory serves me right I got the 130mm one and had to just pack it up with a piece of 1/4 inch thick alu plate, has worked fine ever since :D :D

Anyway, just measure the one you have and get the one that`s nearest :D

Regards
Rob

angel-tech
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue 14 Nov , 2006 12:12 pm
Hardware/Software: .....
4 Quatros
3 Oracs
2 Easiturn atc
12 station lathe atc
Mach 3
Location: Quatroland

Re: Triac Coolant Pump

Post by angel-tech » Tue 19 Nov , 2013 22:40 pm

should be the same

User avatar
Lone_Ranger
CNC Expert
CNC Expert
Posts: 203
Joined: Mon 01 Oct , 2007 15:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Triac Coolant Pump

Post by Lone_Ranger » Wed 20 Nov , 2013 13:09 pm

.
I think the original pumps were 5" = 127mm, (Only a guess! !) the 130mm one clears by a few mm with the 1/4 alu plate I fitted, was just some material I had at the time :D

andy_con
CNC Expert
CNC Expert
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri 05 Oct , 2012 20:06 pm
Hardware/Software: Triac Vmc with 6 station ATC
Starmills with ATC

Re: Triac Coolant Pump

Post by andy_con » Wed 20 Nov , 2013 15:06 pm

the pump completely died, so I had to take it out either way. thought it take it to bits and have a look, think I found the problem

Image

turns out there is a little plastic cap on top of the coolant pump that just sits there letter coolant into the hole, good work denford ;-)

angel-tech
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue 14 Nov , 2006 12:12 pm
Hardware/Software: .....
4 Quatros
3 Oracs
2 Easiturn atc
12 station lathe atc
Mach 3
Location: Quatroland

Re: Triac Coolant Pump

Post by angel-tech » Wed 20 Nov , 2013 15:15 pm

in fairness to Denford I have had to replace bearings in industrial coolant pumps with exactly the same fault.

andy_con
CNC Expert
CNC Expert
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri 05 Oct , 2012 20:06 pm
Hardware/Software: Triac Vmc with 6 station ATC
Starmills with ATC

Re: Triac Coolant Pump

Post by andy_con » Wed 20 Nov , 2013 15:24 pm

ill be making sure that hoel is properly sealed in the future

Post Reply