Triac upgrade options

All info relating to the Denford Triac series of CNC milling machines

Moderators: Mr Magoo, Martin, bradders, Steve

Post Reply
PDodds
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed 09 Nov , 2011 17:17 pm
Hardware/Software: Triac '87 converted to mach3
Orac '85 converted to mach3

Triac upgrade options

Post by PDodds » Sat 30 Jun , 2012 10:49 am

Hi all,

I have decided that the best way to get my 1986 triac functioning as I want it is to retro-fit a modern control system.

I have been advised on here that the NEE control system cannot be updated, so I am looking at pulling everything out and starting from scratch.

My knowlege of this type of thing is limited, but I see it as a learning curve.

I have been told that this system would be capable of running the trac, and if it will, it seems like an easier option for me:
http://www.diycnc.co.uk/html/cnc_systems.html

My queston is, has anyone used this system before, will it run the triac ok, and which software should I purchase to run the machine.

Sorry for my noob style questions, still a lot to learn :)

I also have a second triac, NEE system which is fully functional which is for sale if anyone is interested.

Thankyou
Paul

angel-tech
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue 14 Nov , 2006 12:12 pm
Hardware/Software: .....
4 Quatros
3 Oracs
2 Easiturn atc
12 station lathe atc
Mach 3
Location: Quatroland

Re: Triac upgrade options

Post by angel-tech » Sat 30 Jun , 2012 10:55 am

Roys (diycnc) system will run the triac fine, is yours an atc version?

Mach3 would be an ideal controller

PDodds
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed 09 Nov , 2011 17:17 pm
Hardware/Software: Triac '87 converted to mach3
Orac '85 converted to mach3

Re: Triac upgrade options

Post by PDodds » Sun 01 Jul , 2012 17:13 pm

Hi Martin,

No, I dont have an ATC fitted I'm afraid.

How easy of a conversion would it be to use this system? I also have a orac which I would like to convert.

Thanks
Paul

Post Reply