Micromill Integrator

All info relating to the Denford MicroMill and MicroTurn lathes and mills

Moderators: Martin, Steve, Mr Magoo

Post Reply
User avatar
boots
CNC Expert
CNC Expert
Posts: 220
Joined: Tue 16 Jan , 2007 21:22 pm

Micromill Integrator

Post by boots » Mon 19 Mar , 2007 15:44 pm

Have an older Micromill Integrator, need help with.
There's no serial # or Date of Manufacture.
Late 90's machine with Smartstep 3 card, upgraded to VR Milling V2 (Micromill 2000 selected all M codes listed are active).
Need to add M Codes for air vise (M10 & M11). Right now the vise has a manual override switch on the front panel and the vise will close when the spindle turns on thru VR and opens when the spindle stops. Need to seperate this.
Need to know what the outputs are from the control card, #0-spindle?, 1-?, 2-coolant?, 3-?, 4-vise?, 5-?, 6-i/o?.
Also inputs 0,1,2?, 3-i/o?, 4 & 5?, 6-guard?
Any rewiring needed on the relays? There's 6 relays in the machine.

User avatar
Denford Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3635
Joined: Fri 10 Feb , 2006 12:40 pm
Hardware/Software: Go to User Control Panel > Profile
Enter as much information about your CNC hardware and software as you can - it makes it easier for everyone to know what you're talking about then.
Location: Sunny Brighouse
Contact:

Post by Denford Admin » Mon 19 Mar , 2007 17:43 pm

Outputs:
0: Spindle On/Off
12: Aux output 1 (M62=On M64=Off)
13: Aux output 2 (M63=On M65=off)

Inputs:
6: Door Switch
10: (TB8-Pin 5)
  • M66 - wait for aux input 10
    M76 - wait for NOT aux input 10
11: (TB8-Pin 6)
  • M67 - wait for aux input 11
    M77 - wait for NOT aux input 11
Thats all there is in the mint for Micromill 2000 (none NS)
If you want to control additional relays, then the mint will need to be modified.
It sounds like the vise is currently electrically interlocked with the spindle enable output to close or open it.

User avatar
boots
CNC Expert
CNC Expert
Posts: 220
Joined: Tue 16 Jan , 2007 21:22 pm

Post by boots » Mon 19 Mar , 2007 19:55 pm

On the Smartstep/3 card I have (LED Display is in the upper left), from right to left, "user inputs" 0 thru 7, f. int & gnd. Right to left "user outputs" 0 thru 7 & gnd(last 2 on left).

According to the notes in the wiring diagram dated '95, "Input" 6= guard and 3=i/o. "Output" 0=spindle, 2=coolant, 4=vise, 6=i/o. Just want to confirm this.
To run the spindle I will need to run a wire from "output" 0 to the Spindle Go Relay coil terminal A and a wire from terminal B up to 12v+ on lower right connector. Right?
And for the vise, "output" 4 to the Vise Relay coil term. A & term. B up to 12v+ on the card. I will also need to modify the Micromill 2000 config by adding this to micromill2000.ini file.

[M10]
Description=Vice Open
Timeout=10000
Code=10
Enabled=FALSE

[M11]
Description=Vice Close
Timeout=10000
Code=11
Enabled=FALSE

I will have to "enable" these in Setup Machine Parameters. Will I need to disable the Manual Vise switch on the front of the machine?
Am I on the right track?

Thanks for the help

User avatar
Denford Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3635
Joined: Fri 10 Feb , 2006 12:40 pm
Hardware/Software: Go to User Control Panel > Profile
Enter as much information about your CNC hardware and software as you can - it makes it easier for everyone to know what you're talking about then.
Location: Sunny Brighouse
Contact:

Post by Denford Admin » Mon 19 Mar , 2007 21:04 pm

the wiring sounds about right (without checking a diagram)
I'm pretty sure the outputs are sinking so they will switch the 12v to 0v when turned on by the mint, hence energising the relay coil.

enabling the mcode in parameters may not be enough though. you may still have to control the output in the .mnt mint file.
examine the mint file to see how the spindle is turned on (out0 = 1) and copy those bits. you will also find case statement for the mcodes like this:
case comms(x) of:
3: spindlestart
5: spindlestop
your vice mcodes will need adding here as well

User avatar
boots
CNC Expert
CNC Expert
Posts: 220
Joined: Tue 16 Jan , 2007 21:22 pm

Post by boots » Mon 19 Mar , 2007 21:51 pm

What do I need to open the .mnt file to check the above info?

User avatar
Denford Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3635
Joined: Fri 10 Feb , 2006 12:40 pm
Hardware/Software: Go to User Control Panel > Profile
Enter as much information about your CNC hardware and software as you can - it makes it easier for everyone to know what you're talking about then.
Location: Sunny Brighouse
Contact:

Post by Denford Admin » Tue 20 Mar , 2007 8:43 am

its just a text file so windows notepad is ideal

the later mints (NS with green 7 segment led) need a special app which will compile the mints

User avatar
boots
CNC Expert
CNC Expert
Posts: 220
Joined: Tue 16 Jan , 2007 21:22 pm

Post by boots » Tue 20 Mar , 2007 20:07 pm

Still need help.
In MicroMill 2000.mnt I tried pasting this in under
#m code
if comms( 18 )=10 THEN GOSUB ViseClose
if comms( 18 )=11 THEN GOSUB ViseOpen

And this in after #spindlestop
OUT0 = 0
RETURN

#ViseClose
OUT4 = 1
RETURN

#ViseOpen
OUT4 = 0
RETURN

I also tried these lines before the #Mcode62
#ViceOpen
X0.0 =0
IF !comms(34)=0 THEN X5.0 =1 :REM vice status output
RETURN

#ViceClose
X0.0 =1
IF !comms(34)=0 THEN X5.0 =0 :REM vice status output
RETURN

Nothing is working on the outputs, not even the spindle output. What do I need to write in for code?

User avatar
Denford Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3635
Joined: Fri 10 Feb , 2006 12:40 pm
Hardware/Software: Go to User Control Panel > Profile
Enter as much information about your CNC hardware and software as you can - it makes it easier for everyone to know what you're talking about then.
Location: Sunny Brighouse
Contact:

Post by Denford Admin » Tue 20 Mar , 2007 22:52 pm

You need to run MintMan.exe from program files\denford\windmill directory and download the modified mint to the machine:
Firstly - make sure any other Denford software is closed and disconnected from the machine
Then run the file: MintMan.EXE which is located in the VR Milling 2 installation directory (C:\Program Files\Denford\windmill)
Go to menu Setup -> Comm Port
Set the parameters to:
COM 1 (whichever machine is plugged into)
Baud: 19200
Parity: None
Data bits: 8
Stop bits: 2
Handshaking: none
Press OK
Press Upload Version button
If it connects to control OK and finds the mint version, you can now download the .mnt file for your machine
Click Download Mint
If there are any errors, you will see them as it tries to run the mint file.

Apart from that, the code:

Code: Select all

#m code 
if comms( 18 )=10 THEN GOSUB ViseClose 
if comms( 18 )=11 THEN GOSUB ViseOpen 
and

Code: Select all

#ViseClose 
OUT4 = 1 
RETURN 

#ViseOpen 
OUT4 = 0 
RETURN 
should be all thats needed to control the M10 M11 output

Sorry its a bit like spoon-feeding :) - I don't know how much knowledge or reference material you have on our older systems

Post Reply