Cyclone cut thread problem.

All info relating to the Denford Cyclone lathes

Moderators: Mr Magoo, Martin, bradders, Steve

Post Reply
malutki69
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat 10 May , 2014 22:35 pm

Cyclone cut thread problem.

Post by malutki69 » Mon 05 Dec , 2016 14:21 pm

Hello
I have been trying out quickturn 2d design and wanted to make a simple part with a M45 thread.
The simulation in quickturn 2d works ok.... but when I run the prog on the machine the threading cycle did not cut anything and the tool returns all the way back home in the Z axis.
My version of VR turning v1.8 and it was really old. The lathe is from 2002. Maybe someone knows what the problem is. Thanks

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1684
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: Cyclone cut thread problem.

Post by Martin » Mon 05 Dec , 2016 16:17 pm

I would think that a M45 thread may be outside it's limits but you can try updating to the latest version of VRTurning. http://www.denfordata.com/downloads/vrturningv1_47.zip

Make sure you have a copy of the licence file first though.

malutki69
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat 10 May , 2014 22:35 pm

Re: Cyclone cut thread problem.

Post by malutki69 » Mon 05 Dec , 2016 16:59 pm

Hello
Thanks Martin...........but I can't make even smaller thread. How to updating the vr turnig to latest version? I have got only dongle ....is that enough?. Regards

Martin
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1684
Joined: Fri 24 Feb , 2006 17:09 pm
Location: Brighouse

Re: Cyclone cut thread problem.

Post by Martin » Tue 06 Dec , 2016 12:02 pm

It looks like there is a compatibility issue between QuickTurn 2D Design & the control cards fitted to pre NextStep controlled machines.

Can you try the threading example in the below post.

viewtopic.php?f=23&t=3896&p=14962&hilit=thread#p14962

malutki69
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat 10 May , 2014 22:35 pm

Re: Cyclone cut thread problem.

Post by malutki69 » Wed 07 Dec , 2016 14:08 pm

Hi
Unfortunately does not work.....does it mean that the control cards does not support these g-code?

What can I do to make it work??
Attachments
IMG_0578.JPG
IMG_0578.JPG (194.09 KiB) Viewed 1726 times

angel-tech
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue 14 Nov , 2006 12:12 pm
Hardware/Software: .....
4 Quatros
3 Oracs
2 Easiturn atc
12 station lathe atc
Mach 3
Location: Quatroland

Re: Cyclone cut thread problem.

Post by angel-tech » Wed 07 Dec , 2016 23:50 pm

i think there are several threading g codes and the software gives the wrong one for the controller. Try editing the g code with the other threading g codes

malutki69
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat 10 May , 2014 22:35 pm

Re: Cyclone cut thread problem.

Post by malutki69 » Fri 09 Dec , 2016 16:00 pm

angel-tech wrote:i think there are several threading g codes and the software gives the wrong one for the controller. Try editing the g code with the other threading g codes
Hello
All I know is my control board supports treading g code G92 and G76.
Can you specify a sample threading program with use the G92 or G76. Regards

angel-tech
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue 14 Nov , 2006 12:12 pm
Hardware/Software: .....
4 Quatros
3 Oracs
2 Easiturn atc
12 station lathe atc
Mach 3
Location: Quatroland

Re: Cyclone cut thread problem.

Post by angel-tech » Sat 10 Dec , 2016 2:56 am

try generating your threading program and look at the code, then change the threading g code for the one that your machine accepts.

TDIPower
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 429
Joined: Tue 29 Apr , 2014 18:38 pm
Hardware/Software: Starturn 5 (sort of running, I will get this done!)
Lathe cam designer V1.11
Quickturn 2D Design
FANUC offline and online programs.
Microrouter Pro NS V5 (microstep)
VR2 and VR5
Boxford VMC260
Techsoft 2d Design tools V1 > V2
ProDesktop
Fusion 360
Deskproto

Re: Cyclone cut thread problem.

Post by TDIPower » Sun 11 Dec , 2016 0:28 am

I have a DOS based starturn 5, I bought quickturn 2d Design knowing the screw output wouldn't work but for the benefit of being able to design stuff and get the G code, a bonus I found was that each different section of the outputted code starts with a description. I have not needed to do any thread work yet but have the older lathe design software so can, when needed, produce the G code in that and copy/paste it into the required section. Or I hope be able to learn how to just write it my self (spend an evening on a text editor writing codes for standard threads then just change the lengths and insert when required. It would be nice to just upgrade the electronics to a later version that supports VR turning.

Post Reply