quickcam 2d design post processor

A forum for anything to do with QuickCAM 2D Design and LaserCAM 2D Design. Submit advice, examples, problems, feature requests etc..

Moderators: Mr Magoo, Martin, bradders, Steve

Post Reply
Rich
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat 14 Apr , 2007 16:58 pm
Location: sheffield

quickcam 2d design post processor

Post by Rich » Wed 05 Dec , 2007 20:46 pm

Hello,
Is it possible to post for a mitsubishi meldas control from quickcam 2D design?
Thanks

User avatar
Denford Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3590
Joined: Fri 10 Feb , 2006 12:40 pm
Hardware/Software: Go to User Control Panel > Profile
Enter as much information about your CNC hardware and software as you can - it makes it easier for everyone to know what you're talking about then.
Location: Sunny Brighouse
Contact:

Post by Denford Admin » Mon 10 Dec , 2007 10:10 am

Probably - have you got an example program ?

Rich
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat 14 Apr , 2007 16:58 pm
Location: sheffield

Post by Rich » Sun 16 Dec , 2007 16:47 pm

Hello,
Thanks for the reply. I've managed to cobble together a post that does the job for mitsu I was wondering if there are any Heidenhain posts
available ?
Thanks.

User avatar
Steve
CNC Guru
CNC Guru
Posts: 1271
Joined: Tue 21 Feb , 2006 16:15 pm
Location: Denford UK

Post by Steve » Mon 17 Dec , 2007 20:05 pm

If you need a post we need a sample program to look at.

We need a program with lines arcs and a toolchange in the normal format for the machine so we know how to name the file and what is required in the header.

Please supply a sample file and name the machine model and any other infor.

Rich
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat 14 Apr , 2007 16:58 pm
Location: sheffield

Post by Rich » Tue 18 Dec , 2007 11:10 am

O.K. I'll try and sort one out, we have an old version of quickcam milling the heidenhain post in that program works fine could it be adapted to use with quickcam 2d design ?
Thanks for your help

User avatar
Denford Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3590
Joined: Fri 10 Feb , 2006 12:40 pm
Hardware/Software: Go to User Control Panel > Profile
Enter as much information about your CNC hardware and software as you can - it makes it easier for everyone to know what you're talking about then.
Location: Sunny Brighouse
Contact:

Post by Denford Admin » Tue 18 Dec , 2007 11:35 am

Its a totally different system used in the new post files.
The old one that included an Heidenhain post is based on a 16-bit and would have taken us years to update, therefore we have gone for a much simpler way of changing the output.

A basic Heidenhain shouldn't be too much of a problem (I think) in any case you could always run the Heidnhain in ISO mode instead of dialogue, and the basic G code posts will work (with a bit of tweaking)

Rich
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat 14 Apr , 2007 16:58 pm
Location: sheffield

Post by Rich » Wed 19 Dec , 2007 8:58 am

I have a sample program and drawing how do I attach them?

User avatar
Denford Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3590
Joined: Fri 10 Feb , 2006 12:40 pm
Hardware/Software: Go to User Control Panel > Profile
Enter as much information about your CNC hardware and software as you can - it makes it easier for everyone to know what you're talking about then.
Location: Sunny Brighouse
Contact:

Post by Denford Admin » Wed 19 Dec , 2007 11:36 am

Have a read of this:

viewtopic.php?p=4514#4514

Rich
CNC Apprentice
CNC Apprentice
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat 14 Apr , 2007 16:58 pm
Location: sheffield

Post by Rich » Wed 19 Dec , 2007 12:18 pm

I don't get the option to attach files[/img]

Post Reply